Sunday, October 24, 2010

This just in from , a public education conference call on the Harper government's plans to blow $16 billion dollars on 'stealth fighters'. One might think that in light of the government's ballooning deficit that they should be a bit more "conservative" with our money. Ah well, for some things there will be to times of austerity. One should note that "stealth" fighters are pretty well the definition of an offensive weapon. They are only useful over somebody else's airspace. In any case the amount that may be spent on such toys has more or less been buried by the feds. Can we call this "Stealth by stealth" ? Here's the invite from

Join our Canada-wide campaign conference call
Canada-wide campaign conference call
Thursday, October 28, 2010
12:00 noon ET
(1:00 AT, 11:00 CT, 10:00 MT, 9:00 PT)

With Steven Staples and
special guest Michael Byers

Michael Byers holds the Canada Research Chair in Global Politics and International Law at the University of British Columbia. His work focuses on Arctic sovereignty, the law and politics of military force, and international humanitarian law. He is the author of War Law (2005), Intent for a Nation (2007) and Who Owns the Arctic? (2010).

Join us to learn more about Stephen Harper's plan to spend $16 billion on "shock and awe" stealth fighters.

Send in your question or campaign idea. Find out how you can get involved.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

The upkeep of our military hardware is a necessity of having rapidly evolving technologies. We currently have one type of armed fighter jet at our disposal, and they are getting old. We have made much sillier purchases of submarines that don't work. Let us have something worth involving in a conflict for once.